Challah Recipe

Water Challah

This is our favorite challah recipe. I make it every week. It works in the bread machine or in the food processor.

Depending on the time of year, I often make the dough in the bread machine. I put the ingredients in the bread machine before I go to work Friday morning. Then, I set the timer so that the dough will be done when I get home from work.

The first thing I do when I walk in the door is braid the dough. I let the loaves rise and bake them just before Shabbat. It is so great to have fresh baked challah for Shabbat!

Ingredients:

4 cups flour

1.75 cups warm water

2 teaspoons yeast

1 teaspoon sugar

3 Tablespoons oil

1.5 teaspoon salt

2 Tablespoons sugar

1 egg, to brush loaves

Directions:

For the food processor: Mix yeast, 1 t sugar into water and let it bubble and rise. Mix flour, sugar, oil and salt. Add yeast and water and then mix until it forms a smooth dough.

Let rise in an oiled bowl and shape into loaves. I tend to make up to 8 small loaves, unless we are having guests.  Brush the loaves with an egg and let rise again.

For bread machine:

Place in bread machine according to the instructions.

Bake in a 425*F oven until done. The trick to knowing if the bread is done is to tap the bottom of the loaves and listen if it sounds hollow.

Hints:

On days when I am rushed, I will sometimes put the bread in a cold oven and let it rise as the oven comes to the correct temperature.  It works!

I line the baking pans with parchment paper, to make the clean up easier.

In the past, I have sometimes sprinkled cinnamon on the pan. It gives a hint of sweetness to the challah, and makes the whole house smell heavenly!

The smell of challah is the scent of Shabbat!

Here are the pictures:

IMG_0985

This is the dough, ready to rise.

IMG_0990

Voila! The final product.

Enjoy!

Water Challah

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Challah Recipe

  1. cookandenjoyrecipes February 12, 2017 at 5:09 PM Reply

    I happy to inform you that I have now concluded and released the compilation for the February Share and Inspire Feb 2017 – Bread Sweet and Savoury post.
    Link: https://cookandenjoyrecipes.wordpress.com/2017/02/12/february-2017-share-and-inspire-others-bread-sweet-and-savory/
    As of now up to and inclusive of February 20th – Promote please proceed to do a post/reblog on your own blog, linking back to the original post.
    Thank you again for your participation, and do not forget to keep an eye out for our new theme which will be released on 1st March. Please promote the Share and Inspire Others! Recipe Exchange and maybe your followers will also participate in the coming months.
    Take care and Happy Blogging.

    Like

  2. Cooking For The Time Challenged February 13, 2017 at 11:48 PM Reply

    Thank you!

    Like

  3. […] Challah courtesy of cookingforthetimechallenged This is our favorite challah recipe. I make it every week. It works in the bread machine or in the food processor. Depending on the time of year, I often make the dough in the bread machine. I put the ingredients in the bread machine before I go to work Friday morning. Then, I set the timer so that the dough will be done when I get home from work. The first thing I do when I walk in the door is braid the dough. I let the loaves rise and bake them just before Shabbat. It is so great to have fresh baked challah for Shabbat! […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

