Basic Cholent Recipe

Basic Cholent Recipe

I struggle with making cholent, as I like to have something hot to eat on Shabbat, but, my husband does not. So, my quest for the perfect cholent recipe continues. Below are the basic proportions for traditional cholent, which can be adjusted to suit your family’ tastes. This recipe is easily adjustable for larger and smaller crowds.

Ingredients

2 cups beans: any variety you like. For vegetarian cholent, I recommend lentils or split peas, which will break up and help make a better texture.

2/3 -1.5 cup grain: I recommend barley, but, you can experiment with rice, quinoa or even steel cut or rolled oats. I recommend oats only with vegetarian cholent, as it gives a very nice texture. During Passover, my friend Devorah recommends using frozen potato lakes.

4-6 potatoes, peeled and cut into quarters.

1 large onion, chopped

3 (or more) cloves of garlic, crushed.

3 carrots (can omit if your family doesn’t like carrots. I think that it adds color and a touch of sweetness)

Salt, pepper and paprika. I also sometimes add my chicken spice blend

2 lbs. meat, of your choice. We like flanken, or beef stew. Omit for vegetarian cholent.

Water to cover

Instructions

I place all the ingredients in the pot and let simmer until done. Adjust seasoning and water.

Variation

Sauté onions and garlic with salt and pepper and paprika before adding the rest of the ingredients.

Leave a Reply

