Moroccan Chickpeas

I am continuing my experiment with using the crockpot to make easy and tasty beans.

Last night I soaked the chickpeas in water overnight.

This morning I changed the water, and I added water to cover together with

1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 onion diced

1 T of paprika and cumin

1.5 t pepper, coriander, turmeric, salt

3-4 cloves of fresh garlic

1/8 t crushed red pepper, allspice

I didn’t use the Moroccan Spice Mix from yesterday. I thought I would use it at the end to balance the flavor.

Here is a picture. I need to change the angle, but at least you get the idea!

  

  

Well, I came home to the wonderful aroma of Moroccan Chickpeas. My daughter Raizel describes it as “over the top!”

I added salt to taste and finished it off with the Moroccan Spice Mix.

Here is the picture:

  

My husband suggests garnishing it with cilantro and serving it with rice.

This is definitely fast and easy!

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Moroccan Chickpeas

  1. Kim // Peeled Wellness June 5, 2015 at 6:13 PM Reply

    I have a small chickpea obsession- Thanks for the idea!
    Kim
    http://peeledwellness.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

