Vegetarian Cholent/Stew

My cholent quest continues.  I am trying to make a vegetarian cholent that my family will enjoy eating.

Raizel requested something with cumin so this is what I came up with:

1 c barley

1/2 c lentils and white beans

1 onion, chopped 

1 sweet potato 

2 cloves of garlic, crushed 

1 t cumin, coriander, paprika 

1/4 t cinnamon 

1/8 crushed red pepper flakes 

Salt and pepper 

Here is the picture, but on the wrong angle:

  
I will see how it turns out tomorrow!

So, it came out looking pretty good. Raizel approved and said, “it smells so good!”

To adjust the seasoning I added fresh garlic, pepper, salt, paprika, and some of my Moroccan spice mix.  My husband said “it’s awesome!”  Here is the picture:

  

NB: My husband did not like the extra Moroccan spice mix, although my girls did. Sigh….. So, next time I will stick to the original recipe.  Live and learn.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

