Fruit Compote 

I love to make fruit compote. This recipe is great for several reasons.  It is a great way to use up fruit that might otherwise go bad. It lasts longer in the fridge than fresh fruit.  And, it can even be frozen.  

The downside is that it is a little time consuming to wash and cut up all the fruit. So, when I make it I try to make a lot so it will last for a long time. 

Ingredients 

Fresh fruit, depending on availability and the season 

2 Cinnamon sticks

1/2 c water

Instructions 

In the winter I use apples, pears and either frozen mango or cranberries. Sometimes I just use pears and mangoes and I have used just apples and cranberries. For some reason I like to have at least 3 fruits, but the recipe is very adaptable. 

In the summer, I use summer fruits like plums and peaches. I used to use berries but I didn’t like their texture after they were cooked.

I wash and cut up the fruit, add the cinnamon sticks and water. 

I make this in my pressure cooker, and cook for 2 minutes to pressure. I have also made this in the crockpot, but, I think the color and texture are better with the crockpot.

I made it this week and here are the pictures:

Cut the fruit:

   
Put in pot. Add the water and cinnamon.

  

Bring to pressure for 2 minutes.

 

Enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Fruit Compote 

  1. Priya@MasalaVegan August 26, 2016 at 4:15 PM Reply

    This looks delicious 😊 Love the idea of using cinnamon and no sugar at all! I’m wondering how long this lasts and if I need to store it in the fridge? Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 26, 2016 at 4:42 PM Reply

      It actually lasts at least a week, or even longer in the fridge. It can be frozen with success as well. Enjoy! I make this all the time. It is a family favorite.💖

      Liked by 1 person

      • Priya@MasalaVegan August 27, 2016 at 5:17 AM

        Thanks, will try this out, when the next glut happens 😄 I’m getting all sorts of inspiration of adding to oatmeal and on bread, etc.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

