DIY Kiddush: Cleaning Up

  
My husband and I joke that there are two kinds of people in this world —  cookers or cleaners.  My husband is a cleaner and I am obviously a cooker.  

In general, I find cleaning up to be an unpleasant chore.

Given my challenges in this area, we hired 2 wait staff to assist with refilling the food as needed, cleaning up and putting all the food away.

This was the best decision we made and they were worth every penny!

The two women were very experienced with doing kiddushes within the community and totally knew what to do without my even telling them.

They replenished the food as needed, washed all the dishes and put all the leftovers away.

Having them allowed me to enjoy myself at the event too.

I  was also spared staying up late to clean to then wake up early to go to work the next day.

Without hired help, unless you are a whirling dervish, it is hard to clean up alone. 

I suggest reframing the task: this can be a great bonding experience with friends and family.  A few energetic teenagers are also of immeasurable assistance.

Sometimes you never know how great your friends are.  Without my even knowing it, some of my friends even planned their afternoons to set aside time to help clean up. Fortunately, we didn’t need it. 

Two hours later, you would never have known we had 200 people walking through our house.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

