Shabbat For The Time Challenged

no thyme to cook

I am continuing my efforts to perfect my Shabbat preparations for the time challenged.

I was talking to my friend Aidel, who is an early riser like me.

Aidel also used to prepare everything the night before. Then, she would wake up early and do her cooking before she went to work.

She suggested leaving out the night before any pots or special equipment that I plan on using.

What a great idea!

Last week I also realized the importance of preparing and peeling  all the vegetables in advance. Otherwise, I run out of time and some things don’t get done.

In addition, Malka and I were discussing how to find the time to roast vegetables, given that they take so much more time to cook.

In general, I tend to steam, boil or use my pressure cooker for as much as possible rather than roasting.

But, as an experiment, I thought I would try roasting vegetables this week and see how it works.

I prepared butternut squash, parsnips and carrots and cauliflower. I put them in an aluminum pan, spiced and ready to go. Tomorrow I will put them in the oven as soon as I start to cook, and hopefully they will be done in no more than 1 1/2 hours.

I also prepared a meatloaf and a London Broil. I have not yet prepared the chicken cutlets which I plan to grill on top of the stove.

This week I also brought up my bread machine. I left the ingredients and measuring cups out to prepare challah dough in the morning. Using the timer, I will set it so the dough will be done when I get home from work.

This way, as soon as I get home, I braid the dough and bake the loaves in the oven.

This only works during the summer months. During the winter, I guess I would need to investigate baking the challah either Friday morning or during the week. Aidel also recommends not using the bread machine but making the dough by hand to save on cleaning time.

Personally, either way I am still washing a pot, so I am not sure if I will try that.

So, bed time for me. I need to get up to cook tomorrow.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

