DIY Oatmeal Bath

This post is connected to food but not cooking.

Necessity is the mother of invention.

Raizel has been complaining lately about mosquito bites. It seems as though they find her very tasty. Poor thing, she is itchy all over, and scratching all the time.

When they were babies, we used to buy oatmeal bath packets. They are not that easy to find and quite expensive considering the ingredients. Plus, we have to get everything fragrance-free, due to allergies. It is not always easy to find things without fragrance.

So, today after a frustrating trip to the local pharmacy, I decided to make something up at home.

Ingredients

Oatmeal

Baking soda

Oil, optional

Instructions 

I took some oatmeal, the regular rolled oats that we eat for breakfast, and put it in the food processor. I processed it until it became a fine powder. Here is the picture:


When it was done, I think it came out to about 2 1/2 cups.

I read somewhere that the way to tell if it is ground fine enough is to drop some into water to see if it desolves.

I think that ideally it is good to mix the ground oatmeal with an equal amount of baking soda. I think that  1 cup is all you need per bath. I only had 12 oz available, so that is what I used.

I mixed the oatmeal and baking soda together.

Here is the oatmeal and baking soda mixed together:


Now, if extra moisturizing is needed, I thought I would add oil directly into the tub. I was always told that almond oil is best but I think any natural oil, including olive oil is good.

For a nice smell, lavender oil is my favorite. I am not sure if Raizel is going to go for it.

According to aromatherapy, that is supposed to promote calmness and tranquility. We can never have too much of that!

So, now we have all natural, homemade oatmeal bath treatment. I am going to give some to Raizel and see if it helps.

Hope springs eternal.

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “DIY Oatmeal Bath

  1. ALLURE August 24, 2015 at 6:43 PM Reply

    This sounds very interesting. Weird but interesting 😀 Thanks for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynz Real Cooking August 24, 2015 at 7:06 PM Reply

    Wow nice share!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

