Spiced Eggplant Stew with Roasted Pepper And Sundried Tomato Coulis

My husband is getting bored of his vegan fair. So this morning I experimented with this Spiced Eggplant Stew. I guess it is a variation of the Moroccan chickpeas. 

When I get home tonight I will find out how it is.

This is an adaptation from the book by Judith Finlayson 125 best Vegetarian Slow Cooker recipes 

This is a well named book. The author is a true gourmet with the crockpot!

Ingredients 

1 eggplant, cubed and roasted. (I happened to have some already made up. Otherwise, I think salted and drained might be a good idea.)

1 onion, chopped 

2 potatoes, peeled and cut in quarters or any size you prefer.

1 can diced tomatoes, with juice

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed. 

Alternative: 1 cup dried and sorted and rinsed. I ran out of dried chickpeas so I used canned, organic.

1 1/2 cups water (I used the can from the diced tomatoes)

1 teaspoon turmeric 

1 1/2 teaspoon oregano, I think Italian spice blend would also be good.

2 1/2 teaspoons cumin 

3 cloves garlic, crushed 

Salt and pepper to taste.

Instructions 

Place all the ingredients in the crockpot and cook on low.

Here is the picture from this morning:

  

I came home and adjusted the seasoning and it came out great!

Here is the picture:

  

Roasted Pepper and Sundried Tomato Coulis 

This takes the dish to a whole other level, with minimum time and maximum taste!

Ingredients:

2 roasted peppers (I used some from a jar)

3 Sundried tomatoes packed in oil

2 tablespoons oil

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar 

The original recipe recommended fresh basil which would make this truly gourmet. I think parsley or cilantro would also be good. But, I am time challenged and I didn’t have any available. It was still great this way too.

Instructions:

Purée the peppers, Sundried tomatoes, oil and vinegar with an immersion blender.

Here is the picture:

  
Serve over the stew.

Great over brown rice!

Fast, easy, healthy and delicious!

Here is the final product:

  

Enjoy! Everyone liked it!

I found the recipe from the book for the coulis also posted elsewhere online:

http://www.food.com/recipe/roasted-red-pepper-coulis-429311

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Spiced Eggplant Stew with Roasted Pepper And Sundried Tomato Coulis

  1. Jenny February 1, 2016 at 4:34 PM Reply

    Guess what I’m having for dinner tonight. Eggplant and chickpeas and Indian cuisine are my go-to staples. I have to consider hubby’s cardiac and diabetic needs as well a picky eater when cooking for my household.The slow cooker is my friend also. Great blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] needs of an adult diabetic in the household, I am make a second main dish using a recipe  Spiced Eggplant Stew with Roasted Pepper And Sundried Tomato Coulis posted by cookingforthetimechallenged in her blog. I added strips of char-grilled yellow and red […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cooking For The Time Challenged February 1, 2016 at 9:44 PM Reply

    I love it! You made it look beautiful and more fresh! I love the grilled vegetables!

    Like

Leave a Reply

