Black-Eyed Peas

Tonight starts the holiday of Yom Kippur. So, I wanted to finish posting my special Rosh Hashana recipes.

This year I was inspired to make a recipe with Black-eyed peas which are another one of the symbolic foods that we eat on Rosh Hashana. 

My mother told me that black-eyed peas go well with thyme. So, this was something that I came up with.

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked black-eyed peas. (I cooked 1 lbs. dried black eyed beans in advance in the pressure cooker with 1 tablespoon of salt)

1 onion, chopped

4 carrots, chopped

2 celery chopped

1 clove garlic, crushed

1-2 bay leafs

1 teaspoon thyme

½ teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon salt

Water: the amount will depend of the method used to cook. I added approximately 6 cups.

Instructions:

This can be made on top of the stove, in a crockpot or the pressure cooker, 10 minutes to pressure. I think however, it would be better to cook the beans first and then add the other ingredients and simmer until done.

Sauté onions until translucent, add carrots, celery, beans, thyme, salt, pepper, bay leaf, garlic and water. Bring to a boil and let simmer until done. Do not add too much water. I happened to have my oven set on low (which is similar to having it in a crock pot) and cooked it until done and then adjusted the seasoning.
 

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Black-Eyed Peas

  1. Lynz Real Cooking September 22, 2015 at 8:03 PM Reply

    sounds very nice and looks delightful as always!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anotherfoodieblogger December 25, 2015 at 11:23 PM Reply

    I just LOVE black-eyed peas. I come from Texas, and we eat those as a tradition on New Year’s Day. But in Texas we add jalapeno and a ham hock or bacon. (Although I do know that is not kosher.) Your version looks very delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged December 26, 2015 at 11:51 PM Reply

      Ham is not kosher. But, I am happy to learn about other traditional recipes and then (hopefully) try to adapt them. This came out great. No leftovers.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

