Kugel Kronicles: Mashed Potato Kugel I

I am experimenting with different techniques to make potato kugel. My friend Devorah told me that when she wants a change of pace, she makes potato kugel using mashed potatoes rather than grated.

I thought that it could be a good way to use up leftover potatoes and make something a little different. Then I thought that this could be an opportunity to raise the humble potato kugel to a whole new level, by adding different spices and layering different vegetables in.

The basic recipe is as follows:

2 1⁄2 lbs. baking potatoes, peeled, about 8, cook with salt, if desired

3 tablespoons olive oil, enough to sauté the onions and also add to the top before cooking

2 medium onions, chopped

1 tablespoon salt

1⁄2 teaspoon pepper

1⁄4 cup chicken broth or water, just enough to make the mashed potatoes smooth.

(optional: 2 large eggs, beaten. Add eggs if adding other vegetables that have more liquid)

1⁄2 teaspoon paprika

Instructions

Boil potatoes. Drain very well, and mash until smooth. I cook them in my pressure cooker, 10 minutes to pressure.

Sauté onions in oil, until brown, but not burnt.

Mix the onions and remaining oil to the potatoes. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Put mixture into a greased pan. Sprinkle paprika on top.

Brush with enough oil so that the potatoes will brown. If you want the kugel to be shiny, brush with a beaten egg, and sprinkle with sesame seeds, if desired.

Put in oven at 350°, and bake uncovered for one hour or until top is firm and light golden at edges.

Alternatives

8 oz. small mushroom, sliced

Sauté with onions. Mix half the sautéed mushrooms and onions with the potatoes.

Or

1 carrot

1/2 t. white pepper

1/4 t. turmeric

1 c. peas

1/3 c. fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped

Sauté with onions. Mix half the vegetables with the potatoes.

Or

Use leeks instead of onions and add nutmeg

1/3 c. fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped

Or 

add sautéed zucchini with tomatoes, garlic and basil.

To assemble:

Mix half of the sautéed onions and vegetables with the mashed potatoes. If you notice that it is too liquidly, add 2 beaten eggs.

Place half the mashed potatoes into a greased pan. Layer the rest of the sautéed vegetables on top. Then layer the remaining mashed potato mixture on top.

Smooth top of potatoes and sprinkle with paprika.

Brush with enough oil so that the potatoes will brown. If you want the kugel to be shiny, brush with a beaten egg, and sprinkle with sesame seeds, if desired.

Put in oven at 350°, and bake uncovered for one hour or until top is firm and light golden at edges.

This is not for the time challenged, but it also works:

I have made a tricolor vegetable kugel, using mashed sweet potatoes or butternut squash and sautéed kale with garlic as the middle layer. It is beautiful and delicious, but too time consuming!

This simple recipe can become an opportunity to be creative and make something delicious and unique.

This week’s kulinary kugel kronicle:

So this week I made the kugel with the onions that were cooked with the chicken and added fresh sliced mushrooms.

I only made this with a 5 potatoes, since I wasn’t sure that it would work out. Since I used so small an amount, I used 1 egg only.

I felt inspired to take pictures of the process, since I have never done this before.

Then I mixed some of the vegetables with the mashed potatoes. I put half the potatoes in the pan. I added some more of the vegetables on top and then put the rest of the mashed potatoes on top. I covered it with some oil and then sprinkled paprika on top.

This was the final product:

Raizel liked it so much, that she ate it right out of the pan. It was a good thing that I took the pictures, because it was gone by Friday night.

  
Raizel said: “This is soooooooo good!….Yum!”

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Kugel Kronicles: Mashed Potato Kugel I

  1. Lynz Real Cooking October 20, 2015 at 2:11 AM Reply

    Wow I agree yummm!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth October 20, 2015 at 9:30 AM Reply

    That looks delicious … in Britain there is a similar (and very traditional) dish called Bubble and Squeak …. this is a step up, I think and definitely one for me to try 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged October 20, 2015 at 9:57 AM Reply

      I have never heard of that. What is it? Thank you for that tidbit.♨️

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth October 20, 2015 at 11:39 AM

        Its a leftovers dish …. it always contains potatoes and greens then whatever else is handy – onion swede (rutabaga) or other turnip. Traditionally it contains meat too but most people don’t include that any more. It is very delicious and people will make it from scratch too. Here is a pretty good recipe from a cook I like very much in England, Nigel Slater http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2010/oct/24/nigel-slater-classic-bubble-squeak-recipe He serves his with bacon – I would never do that 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged October 21, 2015 at 1:33 AM

        Thank you so much! My computer is sick with a virus right now, so I think I am going to have to wait to check this out😿

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth October 21, 2015 at 4:21 AM

        Oh that is the WORST!! I hope it will be something to look forward to when you get it up and working again 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged October 21, 2015 at 9:14 AM

        She has to go for a procedure today and hopefully I won’t regret this and she will be back home before the weekend.💊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth October 21, 2015 at 9:26 AM

        I’ll keep her in my thoughts and wish her God speed home 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged October 21, 2015 at 9:36 AM

        Thank you. This has never happened before.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged October 21, 2015 at 1:52 AM

        It is very similar! It is so interesting, food is so primal. Particular dishes evoke such strong memories and yet, as you have pointed out, there are so many recipes that overlap throughout the world. Thank you for sharing this! I never would have known!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth October 21, 2015 at 4:25 AM

        I’ve always love the name and my girls used to argue amicably over which bit was bubble and which was squeak! You are right – food evokes the strongest memories … As soon as I saw your dish I was back as a young mummy with four little hungry squabblers in the kitchen. That Raizel was scooping it out of the dish made me smile broadly 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged October 21, 2015 at 9:11 AM

        It was funny, but of course I am trying to get her to cut a piece and eat from a plate.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. dishdessert July 20, 2016 at 12:55 PM Reply

    looks delicious, thank you for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. FrugalHausfrau February 27, 2017 at 11:31 PM Reply

    I have never had kugel but this looks so good I’m going to remedy that! I love that you showed the pan & fork!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

