Savory Carrot Soup

I had leftover cooked carrots this week that I didn’t want to go to waste. So, at Raizel’s request, I made this carrot soup.

This is a very fast and easy recipe and a great way to serve vegetables!

Ingredients 

2 lbs carrots

1 lbs parsnips 

1 onion, chopped 

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon coriander 

1 teaspoon ginger, I used dried, but fresh is always better

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon 

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg 

1/2 pepper

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, fresh garlic is preferable 

1 tablespoon salt, to taste

Water to cover

Optional: fresh cilantro 

Alternative Additions: This can also be made with butternut squash and/or a potato.

A potato would give it a thicker, creamier texture.

I have also added almond butter, which gives a really rich taste, but a little too risqué for some people.

Instructions 

Sauté onions, add carrots and parsnips and water to cover. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer until done. Add spices and then blend with an immersion blender. Adjust seasoning.

I made this on top of the stove, but it could be made in a crockpot or pressure cooker. 

In a crockpot, be careful not to over cook. 

In a pressure cooker, 2 minutes to pressure if vegetables are sliced.

Everyone loved it! Yaffa even asked to take it to school for lunch.

Enjoy!

Here is the picture:

  

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Savory Carrot Soup

  1. Osyth October 23, 2015 at 9:44 AM Reply

    I would never have thought of adding almond butter to soup – a whole new world opens up before me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynz Real Cooking October 23, 2015 at 9:39 PM Reply

    yumm sounds good! Like the cinnamon and nutmeg yumm

    Like

  3. Sheryl October 24, 2015 at 10:57 PM Reply

    I made a somewhat similar soup today–squash soup. It’s getting to be soup season.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. deliciouslynell October 25, 2015 at 3:29 AM Reply

    Mmmm, this looks so nice. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thelonelyauthorblog November 3, 2015 at 9:35 PM Reply

    I am allergic to almonds so I can’t follow this recipe as prescribed. I haven’t had a tomato soup in a long time. Wow, you put me in the mood. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged November 3, 2015 at 10:30 PM Reply

      I usually don’t use the almond butter because it is too unusual for people. In the picture it was just carrots, parsnips and onions. The trick is not to add too much water. Enjoy! What’s wrong with tomato soup? I should post a recipe. I used to make it from scratch all the time.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Kewrites August 18, 2016 at 3:16 PM Reply

    my favourite soup! waiting for the winter to go back to soup:-)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

