Chicken And Carrots 

This is one of my easy, festive chicken recipes. I have made it in the crockpot, stove top and pressure cooker and it always comes out great!

Ingredients:

1 chicken, skinned. This recipe also works well with thighs or legs and thighs

2 cups carrots, sliced on the diagonal, or use baby carrots. I personally do not like baby carrots, as I feel they are less flavorful and crisp.

12 cloves garlic, peeled and whole

½ cups wine, broth or water.

1 teaspoon thyme, or use fresh oregano at the end of the cooking

¾ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon pepper

Optional:

2 tablespoon potato/corn or tapioca starch

2 tablespoon water

Instructions:

Place chicken, carrots and garlic in crockpot. Season, add water. Cook on low.

I also make this in the pressure cooker, 7 minutes to pressure.

This also can be made on top of the stove. I call it maximum taste for minimal effort. A winner every time.

Optional: remove chicken and carrots once cooked. Add starch which has been dissolved in water. Cook on high until thickened and pour over chicken and carrots. Adds an easy gourmet touch.

I save the sauce and use it for other dishes, especially cholent. I jokingly refer to this a “liquid gold.”

When I made it over the holidays, I couldn’t take a picture because all the chicken was eaten and there were only a few leftover carrots!

I made it again today, and below are the pictures:

   
 
The final outcome:

  

My husband said, “Gosh, this is good!” 

Bon Appetite!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Chicken And Carrots 

  1. Lynz Real Cooking October 29, 2015 at 11:07 PM Reply

    This sounds very good, I love thyme! Yumm

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elly December 15, 2015 at 5:13 AM Reply

    I made this chicken and my family loved it. It was easy to make and delicious! Score!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

