Eggplant Caviar 

This past Shabbat, we had a potluck lunch with the women I learn with every week during the summer. We all made various dishes and it was a really wonderful meal. I will miss learning over the winter with everyone!

I made salads and side dishes.  Among my contributions was this recipe for Eggplant Caviar.  I think that another name for this is Romanian Eggplant.  My Aunt Esther (A”H) used to make this all the time.  Her family was from Romania, and I think this may be common from that region.

Ingredients 

2 eggplants, whole

1/4 cup minced onion

1/4 cup minced peppers (optional)

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 lemon juiced (about 1/4 cup)

Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions 

Roast the eggplants whole in a 425*F oven until soft. Slice some holes in the eggplant to release steam, otherwise it might explode in the oven. (This has happened to me and cleaning the oven is not pleasant.)

When the eggplants are cooked, cool and let drain.  Scoop out the inside of the eggplant. Add the onions, peppers, oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper and blend together.

I don’t make this often, and I guess absence makes the heart grow fonder.

By Sunday, there was hardly any left!  This was all that was left to take a picture of:

Everyone loved it!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Eggplant Caviar 

  1. Lynz Real Cooking November 5, 2015 at 3:50 AM Reply

    I have to make this! Thanks for sharing this yum.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged November 5, 2015 at 4:01 AM Reply

      It is a really great recipe, and always a hit. The eggplant can also be roasted over a flame, and then it is REALLY awesome (and quite messy…..sigh).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lynz Real Cooking November 5, 2015 at 4:37 AM

        Sounds kind of like baba ganoush

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged November 5, 2015 at 4:53 AM

        I think it is. But, no garlic and oil instead of techina. I guess it’s like an Eastern European version of the same thing. Without an oven, it’s easiest to roast over the stovetop. I used to have a special grill to hold over the flame and then I would flip the eggplant over to cook it evenly. Now, that was a labor of love!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lynz Real Cooking November 5, 2015 at 12:28 PM

        yes!! Wow that grill would be nice! Yes that was a labor of love!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth November 6, 2015 at 2:43 PM Reply

    With my shameless love of Aubergine this is a must for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

