Eggplant Spead Variations 

Last week I posted a recipe for Eggplant Caviar.

My husband, however, does not like to eat raw onions. He feels that raw onions have a bitter aftertaste.

So, this week I made eggplant spread with roasted peppers and onions instead.

Roasting the vegetables gives the dish a milder flavor than using raw vegetables. To compensate, I added some garlic powder. It gave it a bit more pizzazz.

Here is the picture:

  
The dish is actually from my grandmother, who was very close to my Aunt Esther.

We enjoyed many meals using those dishes!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Eggplant Spead Variations 

  1. Lynz Real Cooking November 11, 2015 at 1:16 PM Reply

    Yumm this sounds very lovely! I love eggplant so i like seeing different ways to make it! thanks ! So nice it is from your grandmother!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Osyth November 11, 2015 at 2:49 PM Reply

    I love it when I read that a recipe has been passed down through a family. I also love the sound of this variation on your original. I shall be trying it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. CHCooks November 12, 2015 at 5:44 AM Reply

    This looks great 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sheryl November 13, 2015 at 4:37 AM Reply

    i think that half the fun of cooking is adjusting and adapting recipes to make them “just right” for my family.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Parul Singhal December 30, 2015 at 6:00 AM Reply

    This recipe of eggplant we call bharta

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sandra (Sam) Shields December 15, 2016 at 12:47 PM Reply

    I love the versatility of Eggplant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

