Roasting Vegetables and My New Favorite Cooking Toy

I tend to cook in aluminum pans to save time cleaning up. A fellow blogger Lauren, pointed out that aluminum is potentially toxic and also not Eco-friendly. She suggested cooking in Pyrex or glass roasting pans and lining the pans with parchment paper.

So, at first my husband thought that it was wacky. But, over time he has come around with enthusiasm!

I did some online reach, and I discovered that Pyrex isn’t the Pyrex that I grew up with. It seems as though Corning sold the business. Now the glass recipe is different and the glass pans are more likely to shatter if stressed by rapid temperature changes.

Here are some links on this topic if anyone would like to read more on this topic:

http://www.cooksinfo.com/pyrex

http://www.today.com/health/kitchen-calamity-reports-shattering-cookware-rise-1C7700507

http://cooking.stackexchange.com/questions/17970/is-pyrex-safe-to-use-on-a-gas-burner

So, based on my research I got a set by a French company, Arcuisine. They arrived this week.

  

I just tried them out!

Roasted carrots, parsnips and onions. 

I lined the pan with parchment paper, spray oiled the paper and the vegetables and sprinkled salt.

Here is the picture:

  

Roasted Butternut Squash 2 Ways 

I also cooked butternut squash 2 different ways.

One squash was spiced with garlic powder and cumin:

  

The other was plain and lightly salted:

  

The verdict, according to Raizel was: “I don’t usually like roasted vegetables but this is killer!… They are awesome!”

I am happy to report that Lauren was right: lined with parchment paper, they are not too difficult to clean. 

One caveat is that the glassware cannot be used for broiling. 

My husband is happier that we are cooking more healthfully too.

A win-win situation!

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Roasting Vegetables and My New Favorite Cooking Toy

  1. Lynz Real Cooking December 4, 2015 at 8:43 PM Reply

    Wow looks great and nice to know about the pans!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Osyth December 5, 2015 at 2:28 PM Reply

    that looks gorgeous – I love roasted veggies! Pyrex is a wonderful thing and I am most interested in the difference in the modern stuff. Mine is all virtually vintage having come down from my mother and grandmother 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged December 5, 2015 at 10:31 PM Reply

      Hang onto them! They are irreplaceable! I had no idea until I started shopping around that exploding glass was such a problem!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth December 6, 2015 at 3:28 PM

        I’ve always like them but now I’ll be super-protective of them!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. robertmgoldstein December 6, 2015 at 11:19 PM Reply

    This looks so good…

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Haddon Musings December 15, 2015 at 2:33 AM Reply

    I use parchment paper constantly. Makes life so easy

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cynthiamvoss February 25, 2016 at 10:30 PM Reply

    I had no idea about the pans. Now I’m scared to use mine. I can’t remember when I bought them. Thanks for the info!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged February 25, 2016 at 10:34 PM Reply

      I still use them, but I am careful not to use too high a temperature and I put them on a cooling rack and avoid sudden temperature changes. I also bought the ones from France, which I use first, when I have a choice. I am happy it was helpful. 💝

      Like

      • cynthiamvoss February 25, 2016 at 10:52 PM

        I’m still in shock about all of this. I only have glass baking dishes, and I can’t remember when I bought them. Could have been around 1998. Maybe I should switch to stainless steel, or look into the French brand that you bought. Do you know if old-school Corningware is safe to bake with? These were definitely from the 80s or 70s.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged February 25, 2016 at 11:17 PM

        Old school ones are OK. It is after it was sold that they changed the recipe.

        Liked by 1 person

      • cynthiamvoss February 25, 2016 at 11:24 PM

        Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged February 25, 2016 at 11:41 PM

        ♨️😊

        Liked by 1 person

  6. koolkosherkitchen July 28, 2016 at 10:27 AM Reply

    Looks great! I have to do it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. munchkinontheroad August 11, 2016 at 9:46 PM Reply

    Sounds delish!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 11, 2016 at 9:50 PM Reply

      They are great. Sadly, one of them broke during the move. But, since we are now in a smaller place, I am trying to see it as a built in downsizing opportunity.

      Like

Leave a Reply

