Curried Red Kidney Beans

I am trying to expand my repertoire of fast and easy vegan dishes. This is something that I tried for the first time.

Ingredients 

3 cups kidney beans

1 onion, chopped 

1 can diced tomatoes 

1 tablespoon salt

Garam Masala spices:

2 teaspoons coriander 

2 teaspoons cumin 

1 teaspoons pepper

1 teaspoon paprika 

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon 

1/2 teaspoon turmeric 

1/2 teaspoon cloves

1/2 teaspoon cardamom 

2 bay leaves

2 cloves garlic, crushed at the end

8 cups water, or to cover, depending on cooking method.

Instructions 

Sauté onions with spices and beans, until fragrant. Add tomatoes, with juice and water.

Stove top: bring to boil and let simmer until done.  Add crushed garlic and adjust seasoning. I might have added 1 1/2 of the amount of the spices listed.

In pressure cooker: 24 minutes to pressure and then I released the pressure quickly by running cold water over the lid when done.

This can also be made in the crockpot. Cook on low until done. In the crockpot, I think it would need less water.

Here are the pictures:

I sautéed the spices, beans and onion:

   
Here is the final product:

 

This is fast and easy, all natural and healthy. My husband said, “this is good!”

It smells great too.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

24 thoughts on “Curried Red Kidney Beans

  1. CHCooks December 9, 2015 at 2:38 PM Reply

    A variation of this Rajma (red kidney beans are called so in India) Masala is quite famous here! Love it 🙂

    Like

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged December 16, 2015 at 1:36 AM Reply

      Thank you! I am becoming inspired by my fellow bloggers. I am happy to know that this could be considered somewhat authentic. Maybe I should change the name to Masala Red Kidney Beans?

      Liked by 1 person

      • CHCooks December 16, 2015 at 4:02 AM

        Oh sure 🙂 For me, as long as the dish tastes great, I dont worry much about the name 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged December 16, 2015 at 4:12 AM

        Of course. It has become a source of humor in our house. My husband loves to come up with funny or provocative names. Then, he makes a joke about it and everyone laughs.

        Like

  2. nancyruth December 9, 2015 at 3:06 PM Reply

    Were those canned beans or dried beans? Looks tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged December 9, 2015 at 3:35 PM Reply

      I used dried beans. With canned beans, less cooking is required. Just sauté onions with spices, add tomatoes and water to cover and then simmer until done.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Osyth December 9, 2015 at 3:18 PM Reply

    That looks fabulous …. definitely one to try chez nous!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Parul Singhal December 9, 2015 at 11:59 PM Reply

    I love kidney beans especially my kids😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sheryl December 10, 2015 at 4:01 AM Reply

    It sounds wonderful. I like easy recipes.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Chitra Jagadish December 12, 2015 at 9:41 AM Reply

    Looks great….

    Like

  7. Lynz Real Cooking December 14, 2015 at 3:23 AM Reply

    This sounds very good and a different recipe! I love beans!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sabitha December 14, 2015 at 3:00 PM Reply

    Looking tasty 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

