Off topic: Merry Christmas and Gifts For The Holidays 

 

I was struggling to find the right picture for a Christmas greeting. This picture was actually given to me today by a patient’s daughter. I liked it so much that I asked her if she would let me post it as a greeting card. K, generously agreed. Thank you K!

As I have shared, I work in geriatric psychiatry. Everyday my patients share with me the gift of their wisdom and a beautiful depth of perspective. 

In their honor, I wanted to share my gifts to them for the holidays this year.

This year, I gave them the pictures below, laminated.

  
 

This picture was taken at sunset, which I thought was a nice metaphor for my patients.

 

This was based on many of the discussions we have in our group. I am often astounded by the depth and wisdom of my patients. I wish I could record them!

Happy holidays to all!

Enjoy!

Reference: 

Rabbi Nachman of Breslov. The Gentle Weapon: Prayers For Every Day And Not So Every Day Moments: Timeless Wisdom From The Teachings Of The Hassidic Master (1999) Jewish Lights Publishing; Woodstock Vermont.
Here is a link to the book, which I highly recommend:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Gentle-Weapon-Everyday-Not-so-Everyday/dp/1580230229

Tagged: , , ,

20 thoughts on “Off topic: Merry Christmas and Gifts For The Holidays 

  1. sportsattitudes December 24, 2015 at 8:10 PM Reply

    The gifts you gave your patients are also gifts for us to now enjoy. True wisdom is indeed incorporated within these words. A Happy Holiday to you, yours and all your readers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haddon Musings December 24, 2015 at 8:32 PM Reply

    I am so happy that you figured this out and posted it. It is something that I am going to put aside and print to remember myself in the days ahead in 2016. Wishing you peace and joy during this holiday season.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynz Real Cooking December 24, 2015 at 9:12 PM Reply

    This is beautiful! You are a dear friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jncthedc December 25, 2015 at 5:19 AM Reply

    You are a kind heart. Thank you for sharing your message.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynz Real Cooking December 25, 2015 at 8:19 PM Reply

    Hi dear friend, I treasure our friendship! http://lynzrealcooking.com/2015/12/25/cooking-with-limited-time/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. IreneDesign2011 December 25, 2015 at 8:39 PM Reply

    Very beautiful and inspirational post 😀
    Merry Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Osyth December 26, 2015 at 9:40 AM Reply

    Catching up today (Boxing Day in England but just the 26th December in France where the main celebration was on Christmas Eve followed by a Birthday for my husband who happened to be born on 25th December) I have read many different Christmas wishes on the blogs I follow and many different Christmas posts but this is the stand-out. It is absolutely lovely and I thank you for giving us the gifts you gave to your patients. Somehow I had missed what you do for a living and I want to thank you for that too. With an elderly mother (now in her 84th year) and with the memory of my father and of my beloved grandmother echoing loud I am acutely aware of how important your work is. I feel very helpless much of the time as I witness my mother aging. I am fortunate – she is still independent and she is extremely obstinate (!) but care for the elderly in England is not great. So I take my hat off and curtsy deep to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged December 27, 2015 at 1:14 AM Reply

      Thank for your kind words about my Christmas message. I consider that very high praise, given your artistic and literary gifts.

      I am blessed that I find my work very meaningful. I have a tremendous passion for it.

      There are exceptions of course, but I feel that through their struggles my patients have polished their souls and they are spiritually luminescent.

      Their stories and struggles are very inspiring. It is a privilege to work with them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth December 28, 2015 at 1:21 PM

        I only ever say what I mean! And as for you … I am humbled to know you and look forward to sharing more of your wonderful cooking and your insights into your family and working life. Long may you shine 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged December 28, 2015 at 1:23 PM

        And you! We just saw Star Wars “may the force be with you.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth December 28, 2015 at 1:33 PM

        Love that!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. CHCooks December 29, 2015 at 9:25 AM Reply

    Happy holidays to you and your family! 🙂 Beautiful post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

