Aloo Matar Masala

Aloo matar masala

This is from one of my friends Parul Singhal, who posted this recipe at my request.

Here is a link to the original post on her blog:

https://gharkepakwan.wordpress.com/2015/12/28/aloo-matar-masala/

Below is my adaption of Parul’s recipe, to accommodate more readily available local ingredients.

Thank you Parul!  I hope that I did your recipe justice!

Ingredients

1 small onions, diced

3 – 4 potatoes, cubes

1 cup green peas

1 teaspoon fresh minced ginger

1 can diced tomatoes

1 teaspoon cumin, turmeric

1 tablespoon salt, coriander

1/2 teaspoon garam masala

red pepper flakes, to taste

1 -2 clove fresh garlic, crushed

The original recipe called for:

a pinch of asafetida/hing.

1 teaspoon chopped green chili

1/2 red chili powder

Chopped coriander leaves for garnish.

Instead, I added a small onion, crushed fresh garlic, and canned diced tomatoes.  Fresh cilantro would have also made a nicer touch, but I didn’t have any handy.

Instructions:

Sauté onion, garlic, cumin, turmeric, coriander, salt, and  ginger, until fragrant. Add potatoes, tomatoes and water. Bring to pressure for 5-7 minutes (depending on the size of the potatoes) and release the pressure using the quick release method. I cooked it for 5 minutes, and then simmered it on the stove top to thicken and finish cooking. After the potatoes are cooked, add the peas. Adjust seasoning, and then add hot pepper flakes to taste, crushed garlic.  Complete by adding the garam masala at the end.  Ideally, fresh chopped cilantro before serving is a wonderful addition.

Here are the pictures:
 

Outcome: Everyone liked it! Although not completely authentic, I am happy to say that it was finished within a day. So, that to me is an unqualified success!

My husband is now suggesting we acquire more authentic Indian spices. Some of them were omitted, and I think that it would have been better with them.

Thank you Parul! I so appreciate you sharing this wonderful recipe!

It has occurred to me that blogging is a great way to learn traditional, authentic recipes.  Before blogging, I never could have made something like this. My husband was amazed.

So, thank you everyone!  I am so grateful to all of you.

(Off topic, but, I would love to receive recipes for Brazilian beans, if anyone is familiar with this cuisine.)

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Aloo Matar Masala

  1. anchorkeidi January 3, 2016 at 2:55 AM Reply

    This looks yummy and fast! It’s amazing how much information there is for free out there. Wonderful community here @Wordpress ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. White House Red Door January 3, 2016 at 8:22 AM Reply

    Looks delicious! Great to see a recipe that uses a pressure cooker… reminds me that I need to pull my out and put it to work. It’s incredible how quickly they cook things!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anotherfoodieblogger January 3, 2016 at 12:57 PM Reply

    I just adore my old-fashioned Presto pressure cooker. This dish looks very tasty indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynz Real Cooking January 4, 2016 at 9:40 AM Reply

    Sounds amazing! Just started following that blog and the recipes are so yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. honestme363 January 9, 2016 at 8:51 PM Reply

    Looks delicious! And I live one pot meals!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. honestme363 January 9, 2016 at 8:51 PM Reply

    *love* not live 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

