Kidney Bean Curry

This is a variation of an earlier recipe for curried kidney beans. I was rushed in the morning, and I just put everything in the crockpot before going to work.

Unbelievably, everyone loved this. We ate it for dinner with rice and tacos.

Ingredients 

3 cups kidney beans 

1 onion, chopped 

1 can of diced tomatoes 

1 tablespoon salt, or to taste

1 tablespoon ginger 

2 tablespoons coriander 

1 teaspoon cumin, paprika 

1/2 teaspoon turmeric, pepper 

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes 

1-2 cloves of garlic, crushed 

Water: 9 cups if using pressure cooker, to cover if using crockpot 

Optional: Fresh cilantro right before serving adds a special gourmet touch.

Instructions 

Sauté onions with spices and beans, until fragrant. Add tomatoes, with juice and water.

Stove top: bring to boil and let simmer until done. Add crushed garlic and adjust seasoning. 

In pressure cooker: 24 minutes to pressure and then released the pressure quickly by running cold water over the lid when done.

As I shared, I was time challenged this morning. I did not have the time to sauté everything first. I placed all the ingredients into the crockpot and it cooked on low all day. 

Here is my only picture:

  

Good thing I took it. I offered some to a visitor, who liked it so much, she requested to take some home. It’s now all gone.

An unexpected hit!

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

50 thoughts on “Kidney Bean Curry

  1. Cheyanne January 12, 2016 at 4:50 PM Reply

    Interesting. Did you use dried kidney beans?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. anchorkeidi January 12, 2016 at 5:19 PM Reply

    We have a variation of this in Nigeria. The family loves it too 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Osyth January 12, 2016 at 5:36 PM Reply

    I loved dahls and bean curries … this sounds really delicious and very much the sort of thing we like to eat 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Lynz Real Cooking January 12, 2016 at 6:32 PM Reply

    I love those unexpected hits!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. anotherfoodieblogger January 12, 2016 at 8:45 PM Reply

    Oooh now these sound sooo good! I have some dried black beans on hand, I might have to give this a try with those. (With a back-up plan in order, lol, The fam hates my surprises that don’t work out.) 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  6. White House Red Door January 12, 2016 at 9:35 PM Reply

    Taco Tuesday! Those beans look delicious. I love the spices you used, especially the turmeric. I could imagine these beans as a topping choice for “loaded” baked potatoes. Yum!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 12, 2016 at 10:21 PM Reply

      That could work too. I probably should have used more water, as they were a bit too thick for my taste. But, I think that everyone preferred them thicker in the end.

      Like

  7. Parul Singhal January 12, 2016 at 10:53 PM Reply

    rajma is my favourite…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Parul Singhal January 12, 2016 at 11:07 PM Reply

    He he my method is also same for kidney beans.😘

    Liked by 2 people

  9. CHCooks January 13, 2016 at 4:54 AM Reply

    Nice one 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  10. eat2healthblog January 13, 2016 at 7:07 AM Reply

    Great recipe Carol! It’s chilli at its best- straight from the slow cooker with a spicy, flavourful and thick sauce. Yum! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sheryl January 16, 2016 at 10:12 PM Reply

    Simple, easy to make, dishes are the best. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Lina January 19, 2016 at 6:06 AM Reply

    Sounds amazing…should give it a try sometime

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

