Molasses Popcorn Balls 

I wanted to post this final recipe for molasses popcorn balls, while it is still fresh in my mind.

For Purim this year, in honor of this blog, I made them for the first time.

I liked the idea of molasses popcorn balls because they are relatively healthy, all natural and have no dyes, additives, preservatives, high fructose corn syrup or hydrogenated oils.

The secret is to use a candy thermometer. It takes the guesswork out of when the candy as reached the correct temperature, especially if you are inexperienced, as I am.

Mollasses Popcorn Balls

Popcorn 

1/4 cup oil
1/2 cup popcorn 

Instructions 

Place oil in pot on high, with 3 kernels of corn. When the 3 kernels pop, put in the rest of the popcorn, and cover leaving the lid slightly ajar so that the steam can be released. 

Once the popcorn begins to pop, lower the heat and shake the pot occasionally to prevent burning.

Place the popcorn in a large bowl.

  

Molasses Syrup 

2 cups sugar
1 cup molasses
2 tbsp. vinegar
1/2 tsp. baking soda

Instructions 

Boil first 3 ingredients until the syrup reaches 290*F or cracks when tested in cold water. 

Remove from heat and add baking soda. Beat briskly and pour over popped corn.

When cool enough to touch, shape into balls, and cool on parchment paper.

Source: “People’s Home Library”

Here are the pictures:

 Stirring the syrup:
  

Adding the baking soda:
  

Final product:
  

At the end, the bowl looked like this:

  

Cleaning up was relatively easy. I soaked everything in water, and the candy easily dissolved. After that, no problem.

My husband said, “I am so proud of you, this is a creative, all natural  treat!”

I hope that other people enjoyed them too.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

48 thoughts on “Molasses Popcorn Balls 

  1. Natascha's Palace March 27, 2016 at 2:31 PM Reply

    Wow! I think I would try these! Well done! 😊😊😊

    Like

  2. Lynz Real Cooking March 27, 2016 at 2:41 PM Reply

    Yummy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anotherfoodieblogger March 27, 2016 at 3:17 PM Reply

    Wow, those look so yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Antonia March 27, 2016 at 4:32 PM Reply

    This looks awesome! I am a huge fan of molasses. What kind did you use? I generally go for blackstrap, but I’m not sure if it would be too intense for this?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Tasty Eats Ronit Penso March 27, 2016 at 4:41 PM Reply

    Lovely idea! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Karina Pinella March 27, 2016 at 6:23 PM Reply

    Good substitute for caramel popcorn.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. SimpletoWow March 27, 2016 at 8:39 PM Reply

    So delicious, beautiful and creative. Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Bernadette March 28, 2016 at 8:37 AM Reply

    I just went gluten free and have been feeling so much better these days. I will definitely be trying this recipe to fill my sweet tooth craving.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. CHCooks March 28, 2016 at 10:56 AM Reply

    I usually do this with puffed rice and jaggery 🙂 This looks great 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lynne hoareau March 28, 2016 at 12:29 PM Reply

    Carol, this really sounds great !!! What a lovely and unique idea 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. srividhya March 29, 2016 at 12:20 PM Reply

    This sounds yum.. molasses and vinegar.. wow. Reminds me one of the sweet dish that we prepare during winter.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Gloria March 29, 2016 at 1:51 PM Reply

    Loved the idea of adding vinegar in molasses! Simple and delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Robert Matthew Goldstein March 30, 2016 at 11:36 PM Reply

    oh yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. cynthiamvoss March 31, 2016 at 7:16 AM Reply

    Yum, these look great!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Lana-Once Upon a Spice March 31, 2016 at 12:16 PM Reply

    These look wonderful! Such a lovely color too!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Chitra Jagadish March 31, 2016 at 5:58 PM Reply

    Wow yummmy…

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Stephanae V. McCoy April 2, 2016 at 11:02 AM Reply

    You made this look so easy that I think I could even do it. Until I read the recipe I totally forgot that we used to make popcorn as in the recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Parul Singhal April 20, 2016 at 10:01 AM Reply

    Carol popcorn are my family favourite. Generally I made salty popcorns.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

