One Door Closes & Another One Opens

We are entering a new stage. I am up to my eyeballs in moving boxes. 

My cooking is challenged by more than just time. 

So, please excuse the lack of postings over the next few weeks or so.

But, I wanted to share my news that we officially bought our new home this week.

Moving threatens the comfort of the familiar and brings about so much upheaval. And, I believe that it is so important to have a sense of place in this world.  So now, my comfort and sense of familiarity is being uprooted and will need to be transplanted. 

I am not sure if I realized the magnitude of this change.

Nevertheless, I believe that this is going to be for our ultimate best. 

Yesterday, also happened to be the holiday of Lag B’Omer. 

On this day, people light bon fires and the restrictions on marriage ceremonies, celebrations in general and listening to music are lifted.

So, now that we can listen to music again, I thought I would share this song. 

The song, Butterscotch Castle by The Captain and Tennille is one of my favorite songs about having a home and a sense of place in this world.

I also like it because there are a few food references, which makes this post only semi-off topic.

  

There is a certain sweetness to the lyrics, so I thought I would include them here too:

🎶hurry on down to our butterscotch castle🎶

🎶we want to show you the place where it all began🎶

🎶there’s a big old dog in the front yard🎶

🎶and an old grey cat on the back porch🎶

🎶and in between the walls there are peace and harmony🎶

🎶come on along to our butterscotch castle🎶

🎶we want to show you the place where it all began🎶

🎶there’s a morning sun in the kitchen🎶

🎶and there’s always a bird when you listen🎶

🎶and underneath the roof there are joy and love to share🎶

🎶oh, everybody needs a home

🎶where all the vibrations are flowing in a positive way

🎶what a great day, the day we discovered the castle

🎶sittin’ on it’s own little hill and it seemed to say,

🎶”So, You finally found the way!”🎶

🎶livin’ is sweeter than butterscotch pudding

with honey bright days and beautiful licorice nights🎶

🎶and i know that we’ll always live here

even if we leave it behind🎶

🎶memories of lovin’ and laughter will shine in our minds🎶

🎶oh, everybody needs a home

🎶where all the vibrations are flowing in a positive way🎶

🎶what a great day, the day we discovered the castle🎶

🎶sittin’ on it’s own little hill and it seemed to say,🎶

🎶”So, You finally found the way!”

🎶livin’ is sweeter than butterscotch pudding🎶

🎶with honey bright days and beautiful licorice nights🎶

🎶and i know that we’ll always live here🎶

even if we leave it behind🎶

🎶memories of lovin’ and laughter will shine in our minds🎶

Lag B’Omer is also my parents’ anniversary. Although my father is no longer in this world, I always wish my mother a happy anniversary on this day. 

Happy Aniversary Mom!

So, the journey continues…..

One nice thing (there are many) about the new house is that the previous owners planted rose bushes in the frontyard:

And mint in the backyard:

And, there is even a black and white cat in the neighborhood!

I may have shared that we have a very nice cat that belongs to our neighbor where we live right now. 

The girls love this cat! The cat seems to have bonded with them too. She treats my front porch like it is her living room.

I feel that it is such a gift to know that there will be new and hopefully equally wonderful cats in the new house!

Sometimes, it’s the little things that count.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

25 thoughts on “One Door Closes & Another One Opens

  1. theturtle May 27, 2016 at 10:08 AM Reply

    Beautiful 🙂
    Wishing you a good and as smooth as possible move , and many happy years in your new house .
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  2. anotherfoodieblogger May 27, 2016 at 2:19 PM Reply

    Wow moving is such a hard ordeal, but once you get all moved in to your new house I am sure the memory will be forgotten. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged May 27, 2016 at 2:22 PM Reply

      This is a big change. And, transitions are hard. But, once it’s over, hopefully we will be able to enjoy it. When I saw the little black and white cat, I took it as a positive sign.🐈

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Ann Coleman May 27, 2016 at 2:57 PM Reply

    Moving really is a big challenge, but if you like your new home, it is also worth it. I hope everything goes well, and you continue to find little things in your new house that truly make it feel like home!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Pan May 28, 2016 at 9:51 AM Reply

    You are home, the cat has been waiting, the mint is ready for you to trim and use in the kitchen with your creativity and the roses sweeten the air for you, while you put everything away.. This is “the big overhaul”.. A place for everything and everything in its place.. Finding “home” is being with your family as you all do your part to make comfort and order in these rooms with new dimensions.. 💛
    I’m looking forward to the recipes with your home grown mint 😊
    Hang in there, you will find the comfort and order that is home for you and be happily tired when it’s done..

    Liked by 3 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged May 29, 2016 at 7:04 AM Reply

      Thank you for your kind words and response. I hadn’t thought about the mint and the roses in that context until you wrote that. Growing up, we also had rose bushes and mint in the back yard, so I am happy to have them around me again.

      Creating order and finding a place for everything and everything in its place is not something that comes naturally to me. But, I am reaching out for help, and miraculously finding it. And with change comes new opportunities for growth.

      When it is all done, I believe we will be happy with the outcome.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pan May 29, 2016 at 3:43 PM

        Try to enjoy the journey getting there, in regard to finding a place for everything.. When it feels right, then that’s the place for something.. Kind of a backwards scavenger hunt where finding that perfect nook replaces finding the perfect hiding place.. And the clues in the hunt are your own conditioned comfort cues.. Like some people keep the kitchen trash under the sink, others out against the and even others put the kitchen trash in in an adjacent laundry room.. Its easy to get overwhelmed when the floor plan is starkly different from old home to new home.. But keeping your hunt fun may help the creative juices flow faster.. I’m so glad the mint and roses are a throwback from childhood, it’s like this move was made to order by unseen hands 💛

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged May 29, 2016 at 3:52 PM

        I feel that way too! I am trying to enjoy the process. The best part is that so many people have come out of the woodwork to help. So, it’s actually been kind of fun.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Pan May 29, 2016 at 7:48 PM

        Awesome 😊
        But I’m not surprised how you’re embracing this, because in most all your posts, you show spark and spunk.. Just two of the virtues I’ve come to admire about you..

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged May 30, 2016 at 4:37 PM

        Thank you again for your support. Yesterday we packed up more than 18 boxes! We had a packing party. I am looking forward to recreating order again. I have pared down my kitchen. 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Karina Pinella May 28, 2016 at 11:04 AM Reply

    May you have wonderful times in your new home.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Doctor Jonathan May 28, 2016 at 12:14 PM Reply

    With all the hectic activities going on you think of your readers and share a beautiful song and wonderful pictures. This speaks highly of your character and reinforces the value you bring to all our lives. Thank you and good luck with the move.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged May 29, 2016 at 7:08 AM Reply

      Thank you for your kind words and support! I enjoy this blog and I would miss it if I didn’t do it. I also enjoy the sweetness and simplicity of the song. Even my daughters like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Karen May 28, 2016 at 5:31 PM Reply

    Lovely song! I am so happy for you.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Parul Singhal June 5, 2016 at 2:02 AM Reply

    Congratulations for your new house. May this new house brings more success and achievements

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Parul Singhal June 5, 2016 at 2:03 AM Reply

    To your family. Best of luck dear Carol

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lynz Real Cooking June 10, 2016 at 11:32 PM Reply

    Hope all goes well Carol!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

