Comfort Food: Eggs Over Hard

I wrote this at the beginning of the week. But, with the move, I am only posting it now. 

So, please think of this as being posted 5 days ago.

We are still in the process of transitioning to our new house. Boxes are everywhere and it is getting difficult to maneuver.

On top of everything, Raizel and now my husband both caught a very nasty stomach bug.

So, I had a week of packing boxes and doing lots of laundry.

In light of our household activity,  I thought I would take a moment to share my thoughts on how to eat when affected by gastroenteritis, or vomiting and diarrhea.

As a nurse and an acupuncturist, and a mother of medically challenged children, I have lots of experience with this subject area.

When I was in school, I remember it was commonly recommended for people to follow the B.R.A.T. diet: bananas, rice, applesauce and toast. 

Personally, I do not believe that one needs to be strictly limited it to the B.R.A.T. menu. I believe that people should eat easy to digest food that is gentle on the stomach.  

In my experience, food should be introduced as tolerated. I have found oatmeal or cooked cereal, potatoes to work as well.

The most important thing is to stay well hydrated. 

When Yaffa was a baby, we used to give her pedia-lite through her feeding tube. I think it prevented multiple hospitalizations many times. Thank God, our feeding tube days are in the past. 

If not using electrolytes fluid replacement, I  recommend ginger, chamomile or peppermint tea. As I have shared, tea is very important and even medicinal in my book. And, of course, chicken soup is truly “Jewish Penicillin.”

I consider it to be somewhat miraculous that I so far (knock on wood, or “poo poo” as we say) I did not catch have this very nasty bug. 

Since I ran out of herbal tea, I started drinking hot water with a fresh squeezed lemon. I do not know the mechanics, but I believe that there is something very medicinal about fresh lemon juice.

Parenthetically, I also used ammonia and/or borax and soap to clean up. My theory, as yet unproven, is that any potential contamination was killed by the acidity of the lemon juice together with the ammonia or borax.

So, while Jay and Raizel were sick, neither of them had much of an appetite. As they were beginning to build up an appetite, Jay was only interested in eating eggs. 

This is not necessarily unremarkable. 

The only problem is, I have an airborne egg allergy. It is one of those strange allergies that really affects my life. 

So, cooking eggs for everyone was an act of true self sacrifice. I had to open up the windows in the kitchen and put on the fan to avoid “eau d’egg.”

Eggs over hard are my husband’s favorite way to eat eggs. My husband says that eggs over hard means breaking the egg into the frying pan, and, while it is still cooking, break the yolks prior to flipping it over.

These are my husband’s instructions for making these eggs:

  1. Fry the egg until the edges are a little crispy
  2. Break the yoke and let it run a little bit.
  3. Using a spatula, flip the egg over
  4. Cook until the edges are more crispy

 

Here is my attempts:

Frying the egg and breaking the yoke and letting it run a bit.

Almost done: flipped over

Round 2 of eggs and lightly frying bread

The final product: over hard eggs with fried bread.

The final product: over hard eggs with fried bread.

My husband and Raizel were soooooo happy. I made them 2 days in a row. I also added fried bread since our toaster was packed. I was so happy to see them eating again!

Not only that, the open window and using the fan seemed to work — no ill effects from being around eggs while they are cooking!  

My next goal is to teach Raizel how to make them herself, so I won’t have to worry about avoiding the fumes.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Comfort Food: Eggs Over Hard

  1. Antonia June 10, 2016 at 9:22 AM Reply

    Oh wow, what a week you have had! Stomach bugs are just terrible! My kids hate electrolytes fluid replacement, they are always so sweet. I am totally with you on that. I hope you can rest some after the move. I love eggs and this is a great idea. I’ll have to try this out 😀 Hope everyone feels better!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Osyth June 10, 2016 at 10:11 AM Reply

    Many years we drove off the ferry in Cherbourg with our eldest daughter then aged not quite 2. As we neared the first roundabout she was violently sick. This continued for several hours and progress on the road to Provence was slow. We pulled over at a beautiful chateau for the evening which was miraculously open in January and that evening dined in the cellar with only the extended family of the owners for company. Our little trooper by this time was well enough to try a little food. Our family doctor had always advocated apple sauce but the chef frowned and went away bringing back pureed mashed potatoes which she ate and kept down, had a blissful nights sleep (having played happilly with the little boy who was 3 years old) and woke refreshed and reinvigorated. Ever since I have advocated mashed potatoes for poorly tummies …. I’m so glad all yours are in recovery and able to enjoy those delicious eggs and fried breads once more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged June 10, 2016 at 10:49 AM Reply

      I am happy too! I have many similar stories of sick little children while traveling on the road. Thank God, people are very kind. Many times I had to wash my daughter in the sink of the ladies room off of a highway. I think I know every good place to stop. I also learned to travel with a “field kit” of backup clothes and other sundry supplies. No one ever complained.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. anotherfoodieblogger June 10, 2016 at 5:13 PM Reply

    This is exactly how my daughter makes her eggs! We had that stomach bug in our household last weekend, me included. It was not fun at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

