Pan Roasted Green Beans

In our last house, I enjoyed the use of 2 fabulous fridges and 2 great ovens. 

In this house, I do not have that same luxury. 

So, unfortunately, some of my green beans froze in the fridge. In order to rescue the green beans, I pan roasted rather than steaming them. 

This is made similar to the cauliflower, that I already posted.  

I find pan roasting even more flavorful than steaming and something a little different. 

It was fast and easy and only required one pan to clean. 

Ingredients 

Green beans, trimmed  

Salt, pepper and fresh minced or crushed garlic 

Optional tamari or soy sauce. I did not use this in order to keep the sodium level lower.

Instructions 

Spray oil the pan and add the green beans. Sauté until beginning to soften. Then, add salt and pepper to taste. 

Begin cooking with a medium to high heat. Then, add water as necessary to avoid burning the green beans and garlic.

If desired, add soy sauce, tamari and crushed fresh garlic. Sauté until desired texture. 

beginning to cook, before adding garlic and water

near the end of cooking, adjusting spices and texture

It came out great! No one noticed that some of the beans had been frozen. 

Simple, fast and easy.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

23 thoughts on “Pan Roasted Green Beans

  1. anotherfoodieblogger June 17, 2016 at 5:54 PM Reply

    By looking at them you can’t even tell they had been frozen either!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CHCooks June 17, 2016 at 10:49 PM Reply

    I do the same except to chop them up and adding finely chopped onions

    Liked by 1 person

  3. CHCooks June 17, 2016 at 10:50 PM Reply

    Opps.. The comment got posted midway. I finish the stir fried beans with fresh grated coconut! Do try this out if you think you will like it ☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged June 18, 2016 at 9:40 PM Reply

      That sounds amazing! Do you toast the coconut? Plus, how do you grate it? Lastly, how much? I am trying to figure out if it’s only to garnish? I have never heard of adding coconut before. Thank you!

      Like

  4. cookingwithshy June 18, 2016 at 12:17 AM Reply

    These are a perfect dinner side…lovely beans!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. nancyruth June 18, 2016 at 8:34 AM Reply

    Very nice. My husband taught me to dry roast frozen vegetables. I grew up drowning them in water. They are so much tastier pan roasted!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. deborahcrocker June 18, 2016 at 12:30 PM Reply

    I just picked green beans from a garden on Friday. I’m going to try your pan roasting way of cooking. Sounds yum.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lynz Real Cooking June 19, 2016 at 9:17 AM Reply

    They look great!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. OrganicIsBeautiful June 19, 2016 at 3:48 PM Reply

    My favorite dinner ☺

    Sabrina 🍒🌴🌻
    http://www.OrganicIsBeautiful.com

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Karina Pinella June 20, 2016 at 1:01 AM Reply

    I usually cook frozen green beans in a wok, stir-fried style, with garlic and soy sauce too. Delicious combo. The fresh garden beans we grow, however, I tend to add to stews, or simply boil or steam.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nadia June 27, 2016 at 9:36 AM Reply

    Good save.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. authorrani July 6, 2016 at 6:37 AM Reply

    Check out my Curries in a Hurry in my cookbook Feast of India: A Legacy of Recipes and Fables.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

