Vanilla Cake In A Mug

Vanilla Cake In A Mug

We are still unpacking, so I have not yet started to bake again yet.

These microwave 1 cup cakes are a perfect solution for those moments when you want something sweet, without too much fuss.

Yaffa said that she wanted a vanilla cake, and that she likes vanilla more than chocolate. That she could even vocalize that in and of itself is amazing. I had to honor her request.

This cake was a bit of a risk. I made the recipe up, based on the proportions of flour to sugar in the brownie cake posted earlier. As a bonus, this cake also does not have eggs. Spelt flour can easily be substituted, for those who do not eat wheat.

I am happy to say that it came out really well!

Ingredients

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 cup milk (or liquid of your choice. I used rice milk)

3 tablespoons oil

1/2 teaspoon vanilla (1 capful)

Instructions

In a large mug, combine dry ingredients until well mixed. Add oil, vanilla and liquid, and mix until well blended. Stir in chocolate chips, if desired.

Microwave for 90 seconds

If you are uncertain about the power of your microwave, start with 1 minute and increase the time as necessary.

Adding the wet ingredients to the dry.

Mixing the batter until smooth.

In this version, I added chocolate chips.

Baked with chocolate chips.

 

 

Final product with chocolate chips added on top by Raizel.

 

 

Raizel said, “This is soooooo good. It needs ice cream.”

My husband said, “Very cool. It’s pretty gosh darn good!”

Fast, easy, all natural, healthy and even small kitchen approved.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

49 thoughts on “Vanilla Cake In A Mug

  1. koolkosherkitchen July 31, 2016 at 2:25 PM Reply

    Convinced me – I’ll go make it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. koolkosherkitchen July 31, 2016 at 3:11 PM Reply

    Let’s see if my husband likes it – I am sure he will, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. marymtf July 31, 2016 at 3:52 PM Reply

    I’m great at following a recipe, not so good at improvising. Clever lady.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged July 31, 2016 at 3:59 PM Reply

      In general, I am the same way. That is why I have the blog. But, I thought I would try and see what happens, and I got lucky.:)

      Like

  4. koolkosherkitchen July 31, 2016 at 4:24 PM Reply

    I am eating it and enjoying it – thank you for sharing! I hope you don’t mind if I tell you that a large mug means A VERY LARGE MUG, because it almost doubles in size. in one minute, it starting jumping out of the mug into the microwave. It was so funny, I should’ve taken a video – but I didn’t, sorry. Since I don’t have very large microwavable mugs, I transferred it into a bowl, nuked it for 30 seconds more, and it came out great! I used whole wheat flour and soy milk (note that you list milk in ingredients and water in instructions, which is understandable), and carob chips on top. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. koolkosherkitchen July 31, 2016 at 4:40 PM Reply

    My pleasure!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. minusthecynic July 31, 2016 at 6:09 PM Reply

    Mum will test n see that the cake is good 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  7. minusthecynic July 31, 2016 at 7:29 PM Reply

    If you want to see mums effort please email me at minusthecynic@gmail.com or i will post it on instagram cos im having trouble posting on this

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged July 31, 2016 at 7:34 PM Reply

      I will have to email you. I do not know how to use Instagram. I need a young person to explain it to me. How did it come out?

      Liked by 1 person

      • minusthecynic August 1, 2016 at 5:45 PM

        I say perfect. Mum always talks down her skills. If you go to instagram.com they should guide you through the process. It’s restricted to certain types of computers for whether you are able to get your own account but u can view or comment on any computer. If you have face book u can just log in through the back door

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 1, 2016 at 6:01 PM

        Thank you!

        Like

  8. Ann Coleman July 31, 2016 at 9:36 PM Reply

    Now that sounds good!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Doctor Jonathan July 31, 2016 at 11:25 PM Reply

    Satisfies the sweet tooth without having to worry about going back to the refrigerator for more later. Something tells me Miss Raizel is a fan of chocolate chips since I believe I remember seeing them on her pancakes. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 1, 2016 at 5:55 AM Reply

      She is! I think that’s why she liked both so much. She also likes blueberries, but unfortunately, they are only available for a short time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Doctor Jonathan August 1, 2016 at 11:48 AM

        Have you ever considered buying frozen berries? They would be available at your convenience and offer BOTH flavor and wonderful nutrition.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 1, 2016 at 12:10 PM

        I have. But, to me, they have no flavor. Still, an option since she likes them so much.😊

        Liked by 1 person

  10. CHCooks August 4, 2016 at 7:03 AM Reply

    Looks so yumm! I have a mug cake recipe coming up too 🙂 Cant wait to try this vanilla cake too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Claremary P. Sweeney August 7, 2016 at 12:07 AM Reply

    What a great way to fill a mug! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. susanpots August 12, 2016 at 12:57 AM Reply

    thanks for this & the brownie recipe. I want to try them with the grandsons. Think they will like them lots!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jessica August 14, 2016 at 11:36 AM Reply

    This is so great. I appreciate the non-wheat alternative idea. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Lynz Real Cooking August 14, 2016 at 10:15 PM Reply

    I like this and wow it got great family reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Parul Singhal August 23, 2016 at 10:53 PM Reply

    Easy and quick recipe….

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Katie's Time Travelling Kitchen August 26, 2016 at 5:18 AM Reply

    I love mug cakes, Such a good invention! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. babl September 16, 2016 at 4:02 PM Reply

    I plan to share your post in my blog https://hellocreativestimes.com. Since you have enabled sharing on your post, I am assuming that you are allowing others to share this post. However, if you have any objection to sharing your post, please let us know as soon as possible. Thank you.

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. mattmusk October 4, 2016 at 10:11 PM Reply

    Looks fantastic! I have a cookie in a cup recipe that my daughter absolutely loves. I’m definitely going to be making this with her soon. Thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

