Semi – Off Topic: Life In The City For A Food Blogger 

This is one of those posts which straddles the line between food and non-food. My original intent was to post this just for fun. 

This past week I spent a morning in “The City.” 

For those of you who may not know, “The City” refers the New York City or Manhattan.  

I am always amused by the hubris of referring to NYC as “The City,” as someone who comes from a city as well. But, it is all part of the charm. 

If you can make it here, you can make it any where.🎶🎶

Since I traveled by public transportation, I had a chance to “stop and smell the roses” and enjoy the scenery. 

Here are pictures of what I enjoyed.

Urban Art — too funny to not post.

I love doors. I thought this one was beautiful.

The power of positive thinking, even at a bar.

Visualizing the positive.

Great combination! Yum!

This is an adorable tea shop. I love the architecture.

I love flowers.

Beautiful landscaping amidst all the concrete.

More flowers.

Real food for thought.

It was a beautiful day and so nice to be able to walk around and enjoy the view.

As I was about to post about my New York experience, my friend, Nechi, sent me a text about her New York experience this week.

While she was in Manhattan, there was a man sitting on the sidewalk along 6th Avenue, collecting money. He was holding up a sign “waiting for a miracle.”

Somehow, Nechi felt compelled to go up to the young man and speak to him. 

She looked at the man straight into his eyes and told him, “don’t wait for a miracle, you are the miracle! You woke this morning, you can breathe, you are not in the hospital, you are a capable young man, you are the miracle! ”

The young man held her gaze and said, “you’re right.”

All Nechi could say afterwards was, “I hope I made a change in someone’s life today.”

New York is such a city of contrasts. 

Tagged: , , , , ,

42 thoughts on “Semi – Off Topic: Life In The City For A Food Blogger 

  1. Eli Pacheco August 24, 2016 at 10:14 AM Reply

    I can’t stand the New York Yankees. That said, I’ve never been to New York, but feel like I could eat there for years and years. And you know, your friend was probably that man’s miracle. We don’t have to part seas. We just have to show compassion. Awesome.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 24, 2016 at 10:20 AM Reply

      Thank you! My father used to go to the Yankee games when he came to NYC to visit his grandparents. The restaurants are fantastic and the names, as you saw, are very creative. I too was very moved by Nechi’s story. I had to share it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Eli Pacheco August 25, 2016 at 2:04 PM

        Nechi’s story is a reminder to me to keep my eyes up. We have the potential to be someone’s miracle every day. It doesn’t happen every day – but why not be ready when your time comes?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 25, 2016 at 2:12 PM

        What a beautiful perspective! It’s true, and a reminder to be always fully present in the moment. In that moment we have the ability to truly connect to one another.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Eli Pacheco August 26, 2016 at 11:16 PM

        Right now, I’m enjoying a moment to connect with myself, in the still of a quiet room!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 27, 2016 at 10:13 PM

        That works too!😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy August 24, 2016 at 10:36 AM Reply

    Now I want to go out to eat in NYC – unfortunately, it’s a long way from Wisconsin.

    I love the contrast between the plants and the concrete – even in the middle of the city, people find a way to make plant life happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. anotherfoodieblogger August 24, 2016 at 6:29 PM Reply

    I love what your friend said to the man! I enjoyed your photos too, thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 24, 2016 at 11:04 PM Reply

      I love what she said too. It was so inspiring. I had to post it. It was so nice to walk the streets on such a beautiful, sunny day.

      Like

  4. Karina Pinella August 24, 2016 at 11:27 PM Reply

    Love the song and the city.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. koolkosherkitchen August 25, 2016 at 12:16 AM Reply

    I am glad you enjoyed your day in the city, and your friend’s encounter was truly special.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. koolkosherkitchen August 25, 2016 at 6:34 PM Reply

    Of course they do! It’s an old tradition based on the belief that a newborn baby gets a neshomah of the person they are named after. I was named after two great-grandmothers, Devorah and Yentl, and my bubbe A”v”H always lamented that I turned out all Devorah and nothing from Yentl. Yentl, apparently, was very sweet and kindly, but Rebbetzin Devorah was the terror of the town.
    I have never asked who Necha was in the Schapiro family, but as I am expecting one for a visit, I’ll try to remember to ask.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. pins & ashes August 28, 2016 at 10:47 PM Reply

    Pleasure, to walk with you across New York. Lol at sheets. Drooling at combination of figs and olives. Hale and hearty then. Ash.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged August 28, 2016 at 11:22 PM Reply

      I thought the sheets add was way to funny to not share. The fig and olive is a really good restaurant. There are pockets of charm throughout the city which are really spectacular. Thank you for visiting!🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lynz Real Cooking August 31, 2016 at 11:33 PM Reply

    Love these pictures, thanks for sharing this and that cool experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Daal September 9, 2016 at 2:57 AM Reply

    This was like food for the eyes, so not off topic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. New York Wedding Band September 21, 2016 at 5:49 AM Reply

    Nice blogpost.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. breadomlette October 10, 2016 at 1:54 PM Reply

    Believe in yourself because you, are a magician of your life….Visit to my blog and give your valuable comments…
    http://www.breadomlette.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  12. anjala das October 21, 2016 at 3:31 AM Reply

    Pictures are lovely….nice post…

    Liked by 1 person

  13. […] via Semi – Off Topic: Life In The City For A Food Blogger  — cookingforthetimechallenged […]

    Liked by 1 person

  14. […] friend Mindy’s husband took this video of the streets of New York “aka the city” today. His commentary is hilarious. I just had to share […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

