Cinnamon Muffins

Cinnamon Muffins

For some reason, Raizel has been obsessed with cinnamon. My niece, “Yo-Yo” (this is short for Yocheved) gave me a great recipe for Cinnamon Pull Apart Buns when we went to visit my sister 2 weeks ago for Chanukah.

I have to share how much my niece, Yo-Yo is growing up to be a delightful young woman. Similar to my sister, Raizel, Yo-Yo has developed a passion for baking. The 2 of us enjoyed reading and discussing various cookbooks and recipes. She is truly my sister’s daughter.

However, since I am time challenged, I decided to experiment with this faster Cinnamon Muffin recipe instead. Hopefully, it will satisfy Raizel’s craving for cinnamon. If not, stay tuned for Yo-Yo’s Cinnamon Pull Apart Buns.

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour (I used spelt)

1 cup sugar (I used slightly less)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

Alternative: use water, coconut or nut milk instead. I used rice milk

½ cup oil

2 eggs

Instructions:

By hand: combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a bowl. Mix the eggs, oil and liquid in a bowl. Making a well in the center, add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until blended.

With a food processor: Mix eggs, sugar, and oil in food process for 1 minute. Slowly add liquid until well blended. Add flour, salt, cinnamon and baking powder and pulse until just blended.

Pour batter into a greased, sprayed or parchment lined cupcake tin.

Bake in a preheated 350°F oven until done and when inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Cinnamon Glaze

For fun, I thought I would experiment with making a glaze similar to the one used for the doughnuts, and with cinnamon added as well.

Ingredients

Equal amounts of water and sugar, i.e. 1/4 water and 1/4 cup sugar.

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Instructions:

To make the glaze, place equal amounts of sugar and water and the cinnamon into a small pot and bring the mixture to a boil. Cook the sugar, cinnamon and water over high heat, stirring occasionally until the sugar is completely dissolved.

For a thicker glaze, continue to cook the glaze and stir occasionally until it reduces to a thicker consistency, or add more sugar.

When the muffins are done, dip them into the simmering glaze and then place on a serve plate.

Here are the pictures:

Fresh out of the oven!

 

Cinnamon Glaze

Cinnamon Glaze

Glazed and ready to eat.

The girls are back at school today, so, it is too soon to tell how much they like them.

However, I love the smell of cinnamon. To me, it is the scent of Ha-Olam Ha-bah (The world to come or heaven).

Postscript: Raizel came home from school today and said, “These are awesome! Wow.” She then spontaneously said, “They still don’t compare to Cinnamon Buns. Can we make them on Sunday?”

I had to laugh when she said that. So much for fast and easy delicious muffins. It looks like we will be exploring Yo-Yo’s Cinnamon Buns recipe next.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Cinnamon Muffins

  1. anotherfoodieblogger January 2, 2017 at 7:50 PM Reply

    I am sure they were just delicious! I like your cinnamon glaze idea, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. koolkosherkitchen January 2, 2017 at 11:21 PM Reply

    They look delicious, and I am going to make them but with xylitol instead of sugar and a chocolate glaze. Can’t do without chocolate!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 2, 2017 at 11:38 PM Reply

      Thank you! Chocolate and cinnamon? Hmmm. Maybe use coffee instead of milk? That could be really good! Does xylitol cook the same way as sugar? I am a lemon person. I like lemon everything. 🍋

      Liked by 2 people

      • koolkosherkitchen January 2, 2017 at 11:46 PM

        Chocolate and cinnamon are friends. I use xylitol as a sugar substitute everywhere when I can’t use agave. Sometimes I use brown sugar, but not when it requires as much as your recipe. Lemon is fine, if not too much of it, but chocolate in my house is a must!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 3, 2017 at 4:16 AM

        Chocolate it is! I think I am going to investigate xylitol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • koolkosherkitchen January 3, 2017 at 11:55 AM

        If you are not watching sugar intake, you don’t have to substitute.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. CHCooks January 3, 2017 at 4:02 AM Reply

    Looks really nice Carol 🙂 Wishing you all a very happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sportsattitudes January 3, 2017 at 1:41 PM Reply

    These look great Carol. The family that bakes together stays together…and speaking of staying together…looking forward to those Cinnamon Pull Apart Buns. They won’t stay together for long from the sound of them!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 3, 2017 at 2:22 PM Reply

      I think I have to make them. Raizel has been talking about them for 2 weeks. I wonder if I can make the dough in a bread machine? That would be a real time saver.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. lindseylivings January 6, 2017 at 7:12 AM Reply

    I’ve never seen a recipe where you dip the buns into hot glaze so that’s pretty cool! Does it cook the top a little bit?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 6, 2017 at 8:43 AM Reply

      No. It didn’t. I tried to spoon the glaze over one, and all it did was slide off. So, I thought I would treat them just like the doughnuts, and dip them. It worked! Alternatively, I think it would work to sprinkle cinnamon sugar over them before baking, to give a more intense cinnamon flavor. Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. […] Continue to the original post. […]

    Liked by 2 people

  7. koolkosherkitchen January 8, 2017 at 3:49 PM Reply

    Gut Voch! I just link your recipe here https://koolkosherkitchen.wordpress.com/2017/01/08/exactly-like-that-but-without-the-wings/
    I hope you don’t object!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. cookandenjoyrecipes January 8, 2017 at 9:37 PM Reply

    ❤️ Muffins, any muffin.
    Oh, do you know the muffin man
    The muffin man, the muffin man
    Oh, do you know the muffin man
    That lives on Drury Lane?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lina June 21, 2017 at 11:16 AM Reply

    I love anything cinnamon! Thanks for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

