Shabbat In 2 Hours: Mashed Potatoes

Shabbat In 2 Hours: Mashed Potatoes

This is almost one of my non-recipe recipes.

My family loves mashed potatoes. However, mashed potatoes are something that need to be made fresh and served immediately. As I am time challenged, I find it difficult to make anything that requires precise timing. Up until now, I rarely made them.

This past week, I was so excited to have discovered cooking the potatoes in the crock pot. The potatoes cooked while I was at work. Then, when I came home, I mashed them just before Shabbat. In very little time, we had wonderful, fresh mashed potatoes.

I know that this seems like such a little thing. But, it was very exciting for everyone. Sometimes, it is the little things in life that count.

little_things

Ingredients

potatoes, whole and unpeeled

water to cover

salt, pepper to taste

olive oil, to taste

Optional: butter or margarine

Optional:sauteed onions

Optional: fresh crushed garlic

Optional: spices as desired

Optional: paprika, for added color

Instructions

Place whole potatoes in crock pot, and add water to cover. Since I made this early in the morning, I added more water than necessary, to avoid overcooking. However, overcooking is not a high risk proposition. Since they are going to be mashed, overcooking will not harm the final outcome.

When I got home, the potatoes were cooked, and not even over cooked!  I peeled them, and mashed them, adding the cooking water to desired consistency. As I mashed them, I added the salt, pepper and olive oil.

Placed whole in the crock pot, cover with water.

I peeled them after they were cooked.

Mashed and ready to serve!

The variations of mashed potatoes are endless. So far, I have not been too adventurous.

My plan was to leave some of the potatoes whole for a potato salad for lunch on Shabbat day. However, that turned out to be unnecessary.  Everyone in the family devoured the mashed potatoes! I actually ran out.  A definite hit!

Now, everyone is looking forward to having them for Shabbat dinner again.  I am so happy that it will be possible to make this dish more often.

Enjoy!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

25 thoughts on “Shabbat In 2 Hours: Mashed Potatoes

  1. koolkosherkitchen January 16, 2017 at 5:07 PM Reply

    This is such a phenomenal idea! Do you turn the crock pot on low or high?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 16, 2017 at 5:15 PM Reply

      Low. I was very pleased with the outcome. Yaffa was very happy! Her favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

      • koolkosherkitchen January 16, 2017 at 8:17 PM

        Thank you! I don’t even think I’ll be making mashed potatoes, but a big one in my house is fingerling potatoes with garlic and dill.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 16, 2017 at 8:49 PM

        That sounds yum! Do you roast them?

        Liked by 1 person

      • koolkosherkitchen January 16, 2017 at 9:44 PM

        No, boil them; that’s why I love your method. I can drain them right before Shabbos, throw in Smart Balance, garlic and dill, toss, and shove it in the oven already in the serving dish – perfect!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 16, 2017 at 9:47 PM

        That does sound good! Could I serve something like that cold, for lunch? Maybe with oil instead??

        Liked by 1 person

      • koolkosherkitchen January 16, 2017 at 9:52 PM

        I think so, should be good. With us, it’s traditionally served hot, mostly as a side with fried or baked fish.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged January 16, 2017 at 10:01 PM

        My mother used to serve it as a potato salad, but with parsley instead, and sometimes scallions too. I think I am going to try it! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • koolkosherkitchen January 16, 2017 at 10:13 PM

        We do something different that we call a German potato salad, but I haven’t made it in years because of all the carbs.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. anotherfoodieblogger January 16, 2017 at 6:31 PM Reply

    Ahh, it’s the simple things in life that excite us the most sometimes. I am glad to hear this works in a crockpot, I’ve never tried that before!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. deborahcrocker January 16, 2017 at 9:05 PM Reply

    Wow! Never thought of putting them in the crock pot.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gm1123 January 16, 2017 at 9:47 PM Reply

    Potatoes are my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. israelisalad January 17, 2017 at 3:13 AM Reply

    Slow-cooker recipes are becoming almost as popular as vegan and GF. Maybe it’s time to buy a crock pot.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Osyth January 17, 2017 at 7:53 AM Reply

    Whenever I have my daughters with me and ask what they would like for lunch or supper the answer is individually and collectively the same ‘so long as there’s mashed potato with it’ …. I intend to let my eldest (who is a crock pot devotee) know that she can do this – her life may then be complete!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ann Coleman January 17, 2017 at 9:56 AM Reply

    I had no idea potatoes could could in the crock pot. Thanks for the tip!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sheryl January 28, 2017 at 9:27 PM Reply

    Thanks for the tip. I love mashed potatoes. I never thought about cooking the potatoes in a crock pot.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. randyjw March 13, 2017 at 7:43 PM Reply

    Good idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

