Off Topic: Snow Falling On Roses

Off Topic: Snow Falling On Roses

This blog is my creative outlet for what is otherwise a very hectic and intense life. I consider it to be an open miracle that I am able to juggle so many responsibilities and still maintain it.

To cope with my many challenges, I have been attempting to spend 1 hour a day thanking God for every difficulty that I have, rather than complaining and feeling sorry for myself.

 

gamzultova

 

My efforts have been bearing fruit. I find myself feeling more optimistic and better able to cope. Cultivating an attitude of gratitude is really the most healing and healthy thing that one can do to cope when challenged.


As part of this effort, I try to spend time each day truly appreciating and being in the moment.

Yesterday was a wonderful opportunity to practice this habit.

It snowed throughout the day beautiful light and fluffy snowflakes.

The snow covered rose bushes in front of our house.

The snow covered rose bushes in front of our house.

 

Growing up in Canada, we really enjoyed the snow. We always appreciated the wonder and purity of snow as it falls. I love when the ice and snow freeze over the branches of the trees and they make beautiful lacy patterns on the windows. Each snowflake is so unique and beautiful!

img_6317

 

When I think about snowflakes, they remind me of life. I can try to reach out and touch a snowflake. But, when I do, it is lost. The snowflake melts and is gone.

The snow covered tree in front of our house.

A snow covered tree in front of our house.

My father was fond of saying, “In life, you need to stop and smell the roses.”

There are no roses blooming during the winter. However, I thought our bushes in front looked very pretty with the snow. I loved seeing how the snow gently piled up on their branches.

I think that my father would be happy to have me stop and notice the beautiful snow falling on the rosebushes, even without any roses blooming.

So, as Raizel and I were driving home at dusk, I took pictures of them and thought I would share them on the blog.

I never thought that blogging could be so much fun!

This was one of my father's favorite poets.

This was one of my father’s favorite poets.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

21 thoughts on “Off Topic: Snow Falling On Roses

  1. koolkosherkitchen February 1, 2017 at 10:30 PM Reply

    How beautiful and how poignant!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. leadership2mommyship February 1, 2017 at 10:50 PM Reply

    Your father has good taste. I love Robert Frost too! That quote you used is on my retirement shadow box from the Air Force, love that you use it. Beautiful pictures! I’m trying to be positive and thankful too. So thank you for sharing positive thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged February 1, 2017 at 10:57 PM Reply

      Thank you for reading! My father was a very cultured and refined person. He loved literature, and had many quotes memorized. When I start focusing on being grateful and positive, I find that it becomes easier and easier to do.

      Liked by 1 person

      • leadership2mommyship February 1, 2017 at 11:30 PM

        It is amazing what we can do once we’re settled and our eyes and hearts are open. Things just click. Thank you for sharing about your father’s life, and the lesson he shared: stop and smell the roses, even when they are not there, stop in anticipation for what’s to come, and like you expressed enjoy the snow capped rose bush.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged February 1, 2017 at 11:35 PM

        Wow! Well said! I love it. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lynne hoareau February 2, 2017 at 4:42 AM Reply

    So beautiful Carol. I needed to read this today, thank you. x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sportsattitudes February 2, 2017 at 12:53 PM Reply

    Carol, I would never be concerned with being “off topic.” Do it more. Loved this and looking forward to similar posts in the future…it’s just as much about the cook as the cooking!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged February 2, 2017 at 1:27 PM Reply

      It is something that I am very self conscious about. But, like you, I have a lot to say that is beyond the stated subject matter of my blog. I think that you are similar. When YOU write about sports, suddenly, it is more interesting to me than it is under any other circumstances. It’s because of what you bring to the subject matter. Thanks for your feedback. 🙏

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Doctor Jonathan February 2, 2017 at 10:05 PM Reply

    The “noise” and “distractions” we face each and every day often impedes our ability to appreciate this precious gift we’ve been given called LIFE. Teaching oneself to apply “filters” can dramatically improve one’s PERCEPTION and ATTITUDE. When simple things like picture taking can put a smile on your face, you know you have found a special moment. Wishing you and your family MANY special moments!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynz Real Cooking February 5, 2017 at 9:30 AM Reply

    Lovely!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

