Lima Beans and Carrots

Lima Beans and Carrots

I am very excited about this recipe. Since we try to have 1 plant based meal a day, I am always looking to create simple, fast and easy vegan recipes.

This is an adaption of my Chicken and Carrots recipe. Lima beans were easily substituted for the chicken with success!

Ingredients:

1 lbs. Lima beans (about 3 cups)

2 cups carrots, sliced on the diagonal, or use baby carrots. I personally do not like baby carrots, as I feel they are less flavorful and crisp.

12 cloves garlic, peeled and whole

6 cups wine, broth or water.

1 teaspoon thyme, or use fresh oregano at the end of the cooking

¾ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon pepper

Instructions:

Place beans, carrots and garlic in pot. Add salt, pepper, thyme and water water. Cook on low.

Crock pot: Cook on low until done. Less water is required. Adjust seasoning.

Stove top: bring to boil and let simmer until done. Adjust seasoning.

Pressure Cooker: 12 minutes to pressure and then release the pressure quickly by running cold water over the lid when done. Adjust seasoning.

I call this maximum taste for minimal effort. A winner!

Here are the pictures:

img_6270

Just completed, and in the crockpot.

I wanted people to see the actual beans. Yum!

I wanted people to see the actual beans. Yum!

Everyone liked it. I am so happy!

Enjoy!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Lima Beans and Carrots

  1. Lynz Real Cooking February 5, 2017 at 9:02 PM Reply

    Sounds so good

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jessica February 5, 2017 at 9:26 PM Reply

    What a neat recipe. I never would’ve thought about carrots and Lima beans. It sounds really great. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. susieshy45 February 5, 2017 at 10:53 PM Reply

    I have a new crock pot- I am going to try this.
    susie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. koolkosherkitchen February 5, 2017 at 11:30 PM Reply

    Lovely recipe, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. anotherfoodieblogger February 6, 2017 at 12:40 PM Reply

    I call those butter beans, and I love them! It looks delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Doctor Jonathan February 6, 2017 at 3:43 PM Reply

    It’s a great idea to plan for plant based meals in one’s ongoing rotations. It is a healthy option and offers the GI tract a break from traditional eating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged February 6, 2017 at 3:58 PM Reply

      Agreed. I think it’s much healthier to limit animal protein. I believe in 1 plant based meal a day and red meat only once a week. In addition, I prefer to eat complex carbohydrates, and avoid refined sugars and flours. It’s a bit draconian, but I think it is so much healthier on so many levels.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. KR February 14, 2017 at 2:26 AM Reply

    Sounds good. Thank you for inspiration .)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

