Brownie in a Mug

Brownie in a Mug

Raizel is a budding foodie. She often surprises me with her interest and awareness of food and food trends. She also has a natural flare. Raizel occasionally will suggest a recipe, and it usually works!

Somehow, Raizel discovered microwave 1 cup cakes.

Cakes made in the microwave are usually about 1-2 portions. They are perfect for when you have a craving for sweets and need instant gratification. They are fast, easy, all natural and simple to assemble.

Their texture is different than cakes baked in an oven. But, a 1 cup cake is small. Leftovers are unlikely.

Raizel and I found this recipe on-line.

According to the author of the site, I can post it as long as I rewrite the recipe using my own words and use my own pictures. The direct link to the site is posted on the bottom.

So, that is what I am doing here.

Brownie in a Mug

Ingredients

¼ cup flour

¼ cup sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa

2 tablespoons oil

Pinch of salt

Dash of cinnamon

Optional: a pinch of instant coffee

1-2 drops vanilla

¼ cup water

Instructions

In a large mug, combine dry ingredients until well mixed. Add oil, vanilla and water, and mix until well blended.

Microwave for 1 minute 40 seconds.

If you are uncertain about the power of your microwave, start with 1 minute and increase the time as necessary. I think I read that the timing is for a 1000 watt microwave.

Here are the pictures:

all mixed up & ready to go.

fresh out of the microwave

no leftovers here!

The gimmick of this recipe is that you make it in a coffee mug. I was concerned, however, that my mug would be too small. So, I used a bowl instead.

Raizel, and Yaffa (with a little assistance from Dawn) devoured the whole thing!

Raizel declared that it is “scrumpt-deli-licious.”

It was really very fast, easy and required very little to clean up.

Perfect for those moments when you want an almost instant dessert.

Below is the link to the site where I got this recipe. It is a very nice site, full of tips to live more healthfully and naturally.

Check it out!

Enjoy!

Reference

http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/brownie_in_a_mug/3.2.1269

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

42 thoughts on “Brownie in a Mug

  1. honestme363 July 14, 2016 at 7:52 AM Reply

    Just what I needed!! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CHCooks July 14, 2016 at 8:16 AM Reply

    I have a similar recipe coming up too! Absolutely love these microwave mug cakes.. I have already made them twice since discovering the recipe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Antonia July 14, 2016 at 8:31 AM Reply

    Great share! My daughter will love this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hildegard July 14, 2016 at 8:33 AM Reply

    Mmm, this is really cool; I’ll have to try it with my grandkids. I would try substituting whole wheat or spelt flour, and try honey instead of sugar, except for the potential sogginess. Would you use coconut oil? Hmmm. Well.I’m sure experimenting and tasting will be more fun than theorizing. 😉 Congratulations to Raizel on her developing these culinary talents!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged July 14, 2016 at 8:50 AM Reply

      It is a funny talent that she had. My mother is the same way. It must be genetic. I have this food blog because I do not have that gift and I need to keep track of what I make.

      If you use honey, I think you need to use less water. And with spelt flour, it may also need to be slightly tweaked in terms of how much liquid is needed.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. theturtle July 14, 2016 at 9:16 AM Reply

    Congratulations Raizel 🙂
    I can see a “teenage cooking healthy and fun blog” in the future 😉
    This is great for those winter nights when you just need a “little something right now” 🙂
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Doctor Jonathan July 14, 2016 at 11:08 AM Reply

    I noticed that everyone references kids with this quick dessert. I’ll bet there are plenty of adults RIGHT NOW sneaking away from their computers making their own brownie in a cup! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Pan July 14, 2016 at 11:27 AM Reply

    This is tiny kitchen approved !!! I don’t carry a microwave on the truck but every truckstop has one.. And they don’t get upset when you bring your own food in to heat or cook..

    Its so refreshing to learn from youth.. And Raizel has taught me a new thing !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged July 14, 2016 at 12:56 PM Reply

      This is definitely tiny kitchen approved and so fast! It is possible to bake it, but the fun is in how practically instant it is. I will tell Raizel what a help she was. It will make her happy.😊

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Osyth July 14, 2016 at 11:43 AM Reply

    My student daughter makes mug cakes – all my daughters cook and it starts right here when they are young and engaged and interested and eat a diet of food cooked from scratch. Good job mummy, take a bow 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Cooking For The Time Challenged July 14, 2016 at 12:52 PM Reply

      She has a gift. It’s funny how she is so interested in flavors and international foods. But, I guess children learn what they live.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Osyth July 14, 2016 at 1:33 PM

        Definitely they do and genetics must play a role somewhere ….. Nature-Nurture is the most fascinating of debates. But best of all I know you nurture her gift and that’s the greatest gift of all to a child 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Cooking For The Time Challenged July 14, 2016 at 2:01 PM

        💕💕💕

        Liked by 1 person

  9. anotherfoodieblogger July 14, 2016 at 10:31 PM Reply

    I discovered this with my teen daughter a few years ago! She’s only made them a handful of times since then but it’s nice to know it can be done so easily. I hope Raizel continues with her foodie quests. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Karina Pinella July 14, 2016 at 11:55 PM Reply

    I like that touch of coffee flavor. Good idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sheryl July 16, 2016 at 5:07 PM Reply

    What a fun (and obviously delicious) recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lynz Real Cooking July 18, 2016 at 5:24 PM Reply

    Wow really nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Parul Singhal July 19, 2016 at 12:07 AM Reply

    Super fast recipe to satisfy sweet cravings…

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Claremary P. Sweeney July 19, 2016 at 6:19 AM Reply

    I’m going to use this with my young friend, Vivian when she visits next. I know she’ll love it and her older brothers will be very jealous. It will be something the can teach them. Thanks, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. koolkosherkitchen July 31, 2016 at 6:41 PM Reply

    I just posted the Shlishkes recipe – with pictures. Now I am thinking of trying it with Tofutti soy cream cheese substitute. We’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Brownie in a Mug | savyatseventy August 10, 2016 at 11:05 PM Reply

    […] Source: Brownie in a Mug […]

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sindhu's Kitchen August 27, 2016 at 7:07 AM Reply

    Very nice recipe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

